Dee-1 X Lupe Fiasco X Super Fresh Bro’s (SFB) X DJ SKOLi @ Schubas Tavern (3/2/15)

Hey to all my Kinky humans out there!  DJ SKOLi here signing in for this very special post for @KinkyElevatorMusic (IG). I’m on medical leave for work (recovering from a concussion). Should be resting but this is just too important not to do while I have some free time. This post is special for a number of reasons:

1. This is the first official post for the K.E.M. music media blog.   I appreciate all our followers on Soundcloud and Instagram as the movement continues to grow. Feel free to send ideas for potential articles (anything music related) to kemusic312@gmail.com.

2.  The event mentioned in the title was extremely important and ALL of you lovers of life and music need to hear about it since I saw only a few of y’all there (shout out to my boy J-Dav, Nate, Candace and my photographer J-Rod the photo God).

First off let me start off by saying this was only my second time at Schubas Tavern (first being a few days prior at the Sweater Beats X Different Sleep X The GTW show which was extremely inspirational because I’m a producer/DJ who wants to expand and start doing more shows focused on my production…but that’s a post for another time).  Now Schubas (shout out to y’all) is a venue on the north side of Chicago in the Wrigley area similar size to Beat Kitchen/Reggies (not too big…not too small…just right) so I was excited and eager (as always) to perform there especially for my boys SFB (one of the most underrated acts in the Windy City). Check them out at https://www.facebook.com/superfreshbros

So we got through sound check (blah blah blah) go on to perform lets say…hella early because we are openers (for now) pretty nice sized mixed crowd say around 50-60 bodies.  So you know me, I start to warm the crowd up with some freaky sh*t.  After about 8 minutes Chris tells me “yo nig play the first song!!!” and I’m like “ight bet lesgidit!”  So we go through our set (30 mins roughly), it goes dope everyone’s feeling it because we get down like that!  I ended with bounce and break yo back (they wasn’t ready…at all) and we exit stage left per usual.

Now I’ll be the first to admit this wasn’t our best set; good but not the best.  There were a few things off with the re-verb on the mic, but not a big deal.  After are set we are all in the green room laughing about it and drinking some complementary 312 beer (shout out to beer in general) when in walks Dee-1. So I’m like cool, this is obviously dude from the flyer (FYI before the show I only heard one of this mans songs which was dope but I would be lying to say I was a fan prior).  So that was cool, I chop with him for a little while then go upstairs to talk to my friends then out the corner of my eyes i see this familiar lookin’ dude with locs and glasses on.  In my mind I’m like “aw dope…a human with dreads that’s always cool!” RESPECT.  I do a double take and think “yo is that Lupe? Nahhhhhh couldn’t be?!?” Triple take like “damn thats F*CKING Lupe Fiasco dog!!!” I literally went to Target at 9 am before school (shout out to Whitney Young) to buy this mans first CD. CLASSIC.

Lupe heads down to the green room pretty unnoticed by most.  I tell Julian (my photographer) “yooooo that was Lupe bro” and he’s like “no way” and plays it off like the hipster he is.  So I tell SFB and we run back down to the green room like some straight up groupies.  So there he is…Lupe just coolin’ in the corner being Lupe.  HELLA CHILL.  Dee-1 and Lupe talk about their game plan for the show.  Dee-1 wanted Lupe to come out during the middle of his set and Lupe stops him and says “nah man I want y’all to introduce me like I’m a nobody…just an up and coming rapper from the west-side of Chicago.”  Whole time I’m like “this is pretty damn dope…can’t even lie.”  So we all talk for like 15 and we all jock him (groupies….) and tell him how big of fans we are.  I told him “hey don’t worry you got a bright future kid” and he replied “thanks man I’m just tryin’ to make it!”

They get called to go on stage and we follow them up the stairs.  The management takes Lupe out the side door.  i tell my boy Jdav “watch this”. Just like they planned the MC said “now we have one more opening act” and the crowd jokingly boos.  “A young up and coming rapper from the west-side of Chicago…hell I don’t even know his name.” Then Lupe comes out the side door with a big black coat and hood on and just starts slaying!!! The crowd was so confused.  But we were just in the zone, vibing out to the music!  Then he takes off his coat and does 3 more songs from his new project “Tetsuo & Youth,” available on iTunes now. Obviously the set was crazy dope everyone was dumb hype.  Surprisingly the most inspirational part of the night was yet to come….

My boy Dee-1 hops on stage with the confidence of any polished vet in the game (this was his first headlining tour).  Now granted, I have been cheating myself by not checking out this mans music.  My cousin Lolo loves him.  She’s a deep sista and hates most rappers so i knew he had to have some substance. His whole set was like a testimonial.  It seemed like it wasn’t even music, it was more than that.  He had a song that almost made me tear up where he spoke about a kid that he taught that was murdered by another one of his students…yeah he was a teacher go figure, he still is.  In general this man just spoke the truth…real issues…real people…real solutions.  SIMPLE yet effective.

His whole performance was just super emotional and passionate.  Honestly I’ve never seen a artist live who was as deep and thought provoking as Dee-1.  It was honestly like watching a sermon. I’ve always been inspired by my parents to work with the youth and to help uplift the community, but this man in a 1 hour set inspired me more than anybody else (with an exception to them) and that is the truth.  Shout out to you Dee-1 Keep making REAL music…Keep avoiding the pressures of the music industry and making REAL Hip-Hop.

(Rap – Lies = Hip-Hop…Enstrumental taught me)…Keep being you my brotha! I respect you a lot man and it was an honor opening for you.  I will have you back in Chicago and we WILL make a difference! (I’ll be down in the NOLA too FYI).

Readers if you don’t take anything else from this post remember this motto.  BE REAL!  BE RIGHTEOUS!  BE RELEVANT #3sup

Thank you for reading!  More articles coming soon!

SN:  Thank you to anyone who has ever supported me.  I appreciate y’all more than you will ever realize! i won’t let you all down. Launch party coming soon juswaitonit!

(photos: Julian Rodriguez)

ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! Schubas_DJSKOLIOSIS-4 ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! Schubas_DJSKOLIOSIS-9 ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! Schubas_DJSKOLIOSIS-12 Schubas_DJSKOLIOSIS-13 ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION! ALL RIGHTS RESEVED TO JULIAN RODRIGUEZ. NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION!!

Leave a Reply

